Beauty in the eyes of a toilet

I’ve been reading this book, “The Accidental Masterpiece;  On the Art of Life and Vice Versa.” In it, the author demonstrates how world-renowned artists found beauty and made art in the everyday, like through a gum ball machine or the collection of light bulbs.

Thiebaud's Three Machines

Thiebaud's Three Machines

I’ve made it a goal to do the same. Here’s, honestly, the first thing I noticed:

A men's urinal at Northstar in Columbus

A men's urinal at Northstar in Columbus

At first I thought it was kind of cool looking, but over a matter of minutes I came to be turned off by it’s slightly suggestive design. I left the restroom after spending way too much time looking at a urinal and found my lunch awaiting me.

Now this:

The veggie burger at Northstar

The veggie burger at Northstar

is beauty.

One response to “Beauty in the eyes of a toilet

  1. Justin, that’s a neat concept, finding art in everyday life.

    I don’t believe it is all that new though. Seems like that’s just what God created us to do. I mean when we look at His creation, we are awestruck of what a creationist He really is. We as humans can try to recreate, but nothing is as amazingly artistic as what we find in His creation. I guess it’s just in our given nature to look, seek and find, then continually be amazed at all the wonders of the world around us in which we live.

    And as the saying goes, “Beauty is in the eyes of the beholder.”

Leave a Reply

